Russian Beauty

  • Duration: 1:50
  • Intermissions: Without intermissions
  • Age category: 18+
  • In the repertoire
Events schedule:

Based on the novel by Victor Erofeev

 

"Me, undersigned, Irina Vladimirovna Tarakanova alias Joan of Arc, The Maid of Orléans alias, partly Mary of Egypt, Russian, pregnant, non-party, deeply sympathetic, divorced, the first husband – I do not remember, the second one – a footballer, princess, patriote, involuntarily dependent, residing in the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics since my birth, having been returned to my place of origin in Moscow in 23 years; Andrianopolskaya street 3, building 2, apartment 16, declare my will to marry my adored fiancé Leonardo da Vinci, having been an Italian artist, nowadays an anonymous and restless body. The marriage will take place in my apartment at the idicated time. Signature: (Irina Tarakanova)"

Victor Erofeev, "Russian Beauty"
 

 

The novel Russian Beauty was written by Victor Erofeev in the early 80s and was only published 10 years later; it turned out to be too radical for Russian society. Even after the collapse of the USSR the book provoked strong indignation. Describing the story of Irina Tarakanova, who comes to conquer Moscow from a little provincial town and quickly plunges into violent and ruthless sexual life, Erofeev does not hesitate to call things by their name. The frankness with which he hurls the stream of female consciousness at his readers could only shock inhabitants of the USSR – a country “with no sex”. Later the book was translated into dozens of languages and recognized throughout the world.

Spectators as well as the novel readers are plunged into the heroine’s inner world and watch the whole story through her eyes. Irina Tarakanova, performed by Ekaterina Steblina from Studio Seven, wears a scarlet dress, sings in Portuguese with the accompaniment of a mysterious Carlos (who is represented by a crow behind the window or, maybe, just a handsome diplomat), and speaks to God through electric light bulbs. She delivers passionate monologues and dances to Latin-American rhythms, dreaming of becoming a new Joan of Arc.

In Berkovich’s show the whole stage is covered with the striped mattresses which either turn into phone booths, car seats or tombstones. It is an absurd world where delirium cannot be separated from reality; sex is a substitute for love and the only way to overcome insanity is death.

Except for Tarakanova, there are only two actors on the stage: Anna Gulyarenko and Vyacheslav Gilinov who perform all the other roles, ranging from garish Mordovian Polina Nikanorovna to General Vlasov’s corpse. The play is nevertheless dominated by the Russian Beauty, torn to pieces by her dreams of a luxurious life, by her desire for love and her striving for Russia’s salvation. This is a story of beauty that once again tries to save the world but does not succeed.

 

Authors:

Author Victor Erofeyev
Director Zhenya Berkovich

Music, musical direction: Dmitry Zhuk
Songs translation: Rinat Valiullin
Choreography: Alexander Lyubashin
Set design: Ulya Khashem
Costumes: Kirill Mintsev
Lighting: Elena Perelman
Stage manager: Angelina Gavreliuk
Executive producer: Galarina Dolgovykh

Starring:

Irina Vladimirovna TarakanovaEkaterina Steblina
CarlosDmitry Zhuk

Русская красавица

  • Продолжительность: 1:50
  • Количество антрактов: Без антракта
  • Возрастная категория: 18+
  • В репертуаре

По роману Виктора Ерофеева

Роман, написанный от лица лимитчицы Ирины Таракановой, превратился в бенефис молодой актрисы «Седьмой студии» Екатерины Стеблиной. Практически два часа она солирует, кувыркаясь в своем красном платье среди полосатых матрасов — главного элемента сценографии Ули Хашем. Актриса бесспорно очень хороша — порывиста, горяча и разнообразна. Есть в ней и милое девичье кокетство, и дразнящий шарм юной Лолиты, и смутная русская тоска, и трагический надрыв.

Марина Шимадина, «Известия»

 

Роман «Русская красавица» был написан Виктором Ерофеевым в начале 80-х, но опубликован только почти через 10 лет — для советского общества он оказался слишком радикальным. Но и на заре перестройки книга вызвала бурю негодования: в истории провинциалки Ирины Таракановой, которая приехала покорять Москву, где сразу окунулась в жестокую и беспощадную сексуальную жизнь, Ерофеев не стесняется называть все вещи своими именами. Он выплескивает на читателей поток женского сознания с откровенностью, которая не могла не стать настоящим шоком для жителей СССР, страны, где «не было секса». Впрочем, позже книга была переведена на десятки языков и получила признание по всему миру.

Зрители, как и читатели романа, погружаются во внутренний мир героини, и видят все события как бы ее глазами. Ирина Тараканова в исполнении актрисы «Седьмой студии» Екатерины Стеблиной ходит в ярко-красном платье, поет на португальском языке под аккомпанемент загадочного Карлоса (то ли ворона за окном, то ли красавца-дипломата), и разговаривает с Богом через лампочки. Она произносит страстные монологи и танцует под латиноамериканские ритмы, мечтая стать новой Жанной Д’Арк.

В спектакле Беркович вся сцена покрыта полосатыми матрасами, которые превращаются то в телефонную будку, то в автомобильные сидения, то в могильные плиты. Это мир абсурда, где бред неотделим от реальности, секс и любовь подменяют друг друга, а единственным способом преодолеть безумие становится смерть.

Кроме Таракановой, на сцене всего два актера, Анна Гуляренко и Вячеслав Гилинов, которые перевоплощаются во все роли подряд, от «крикливой мордовки Полины Никаноровны» до трупа генерала Власова. Но в центре спектакля остается она – «русская красавица», разрываемая на части мечтой о роскошной жизни, желанием любить и стремлением спасти Россию. Это история о том, как красота в очередной раз пытается, но так и не может изменить мир.

 

Авторы:

Режиссер Женя Беркович

Композитор, музыкальный руководитель: Дмитрий Жук
Автор перевода песен: Ринат Валиулин
Хореограф: Александр Любашин
Художник: Уля Хашем
Художник по костюмам: Кирилл Минцев
Художник по свету: Елена Перельман    
Исполнительный продюсер: Галарина Долговых

 

В ролях:

Ирина Владимировна ТаракановаЕкатерина Стеблина
КарлосДмитрий Жук