Luchino Visconti

Luchino Visconti
  • Full name: Luchino Visconti
  • Date of birth: 2 November 1906

Luchino Visconti was born in Milano, on November 2, 1906. He was born into an ancient aristocratic family in Milan, one of seven children of the Grand Duke of Modrone and his wife Carla. His father owned a castle in Lombardy, served the Savoy dynasty, financed the “La Scala” theatre and was the head of the football club “Internationale” between 1914 and 1919. Visconti’s ancestors ruled Milan during two centiries; his complete title was “Nobile dei duchi, Duca di Crazzano Visconti, Conte di Lonate Pozzolo, Signore di Cordelo, Consignore di Somma, Consignore di Crenna, Consignone di Agnadello, Patrizio Milanese”.

In the early years he was exposed to art, music and theatre. He began his filmmaking career in early 30s as an assistant director of Jean Gabin. His aristocratic origins did not make it difficult for him to join Italian communist circle. During the World War II, he participated in the Resistance movement, was arrested for organisation of an anti-fascist complot and was nearly shot.

He financed his first film “Obsession” in the middle of the war with his own and Italian communist party’s money. This one as well as some other Visconti’s films originated a whole new genre – neorealist films. 


Step by step, Visconti left the simplicity of his early works, where he often used nonprofessional actors, and began to make large scale film sagas. One of these first epic works was “Rocco and his brothers”, the story of Southern Italians who migrated to Milan seeking financial stability. This film represents an encyclopaedia of Italian life after the war. Visconti’s most global project is “German trilogy”, which includes “Twilight of the Gods”, “Death in Venice” and “Ludwig”. In the end of his life, Visconti became a real cinema aesthete. He created films where each shot resembles a Renaissance painting and where profound philosophical meanings strike imagination.

Лукино Висконти

Лукино Висконти
  • Полное имя: Лукино Висконти
  • Дата рождения: 2 ноября 1906

Кинорежиссер Лукино Висконти родился 2 ноября 1906 года в Милане. Его отец владел замком в Ломбардии, служил Савойской династии, покровительствовал театру Ла Скала и в 1914–1919 годах возглавлял футбольный клуб «Интернационале». Висконти принадлежал к одному из самых древних и благородных итальянских родов: его предки правили в Милане на протяжении почти двух веков. Его полный титул звучит как «дон Лукино Висконти ди Модроне, граф Лонате Поццоло, синьор ди Корджело, консиньор ди Сомма, Кренна и Аньяделло, миланский патриций».

Ещё в юности Висконти увлекся оперой, а в конце 30-х годов работал в Париже ассистентом известного кинорежиссера и актера Жана Габена.  Аристократическое происхождение не помешало ему сблизиться с итальянскими коммунистами. Во время Второй мировой он активно участвовал в Сопротивлении, был арестован за участие в антифашистском заговоре и чуть не расстрелян.

Свой первый фильм, «Одержимость», он снял ещё в разгаре войны, на собственные деньги и средства компартии Италии. Висконти стал одним из родоначальников и главных представителей жанра, изменившего всю историю кино - неореализма, к которому относятся и некоторые другие его картины.

Постепенно Висконти ушел от простоты своих ранних фильмов, где зачастую играли непрофессиональные актеры, и начал снимать масштабные киносаги. Одной из первых стал фильм «Рокко и его братья», запечатлевший во всех подробностях жизнь послевоенной Италии. Но самый глобальный проект режиссёра - «немецкая трилогия», в которую вошли «Гибель богов», «Смерть в Венеции» и «Людвиг». К концу жизни Висконти превратился в настоящего киноэстета, создавая картины, где каждый кадр похож на ренессансное полотно, а глубина философских смыслов поражает воображение.