Lars von Trier

Lars von Trier
  • Full name: Lars von Trier

Lars von Trier is one the most radical European filmmakers of the last 30 years. He was born in a Danish state employee’s family, in Copenhagen, on April 30th,1956. He made his first cartoon “The journey to the Pumpkin country” at the age of 11. Thereafter, his mother gave him a Super-8 camera as a gift and brought him her old films so the boy could learn editing. A couple of years later, Trier decided to attend the National Film School of Denmark but was not accepted. Only one year later, when he has already made two short films using his Super-8 camera, he succeeded to persuade the admissions office.

After graduation he started working on the highly stylized drama. His first feature film project made a lot of noise. The action of the European trilogy, including “Element of Crime”, “Epidemic” and “Europa”, took place in the half-destroyed, apocalyptic Europe, and the characters tried and did not succeed to deal with their own Past.


Von Trier's next film, “Breaking the waves”, was the first film in von Trier's “Golden Heart Trilogy” – a film trilogy about women who are ready to sacrifice anything for the sake of their relatives. Its grainy images and manual cinematography led towards Dogma 95 (a manifesto for a new cinematic movement, presented in 1995 with Thomas Vinterberg). The second movie was “The Idiots”. The explicit images in this film caused a big international scandal. “Dancing in the Dark” was the final component that completed the trilogy.

He then directed two films in his announced 'U.S. trilogy': “Dogville” and “Manderlay”. Both films had huge casts of internationally renowned actors, and questioned various issues of the American society such as intolerance in “Dogville” and slavery in “Manderlay”. Later, “Antichrist” and “Melancholia” were released – two psychological disaster dramas in which the end of the world turns from anti-utopia into scary reality.

Ларс фон Триер

Ларс фон Триер
  • Полное имя: Ларс фон Триер

Ларс Фон Триер - один из самых радикальных европейских кинорежиссёров последних 30 лет. Родился 30 апреля 1956 года в Копенгагене, в семье госслужащих. Уже в 11 лет снял свою первую киноработу - мультфильм «Путешествие в Тыквенную страну». После этого мама подарила ему свою кинокамеру и стала приносить старые пленки, на которых мальчик учился монтажу. Нет ничего удивительного в том, что после этого Триер решил поступать в Копенгагенскую киношколу. Впрочем, с первого раза его туда не взяли, и только вторая попытка, после того, как он снял два короткометражных фильма, увенчалась успехом.

Первый же полнометражный проект Триера вызвал большой резонанс. В трилогии «Европа», состоящей из фильмов  «Элемент преступления», «Эпидемия» и «Европа», действие происходит в охваченной апокалипсическим бедствием Европе, а герои пытаются и не могут разобраться с собственным прошлым.

Три своих следующих фильма Триер снова объединил в цикл, назвав его «трилогией о золотом сердце». В фильмах «Идиоты», «Рассекая волны» и «Танцующая в темноте» в центре его внимания судьбы женщин, готовых на любые жертвы ради своих близких. «Идиоты», единственный фильм Триера, снятый по правилам манифеста «Догма 95» (сочиненного им вместе с режиссером Томасом Винтербергом), стали поводом для скандала - не только потому, что речь в них идёт о социальных бунтарях, презирающих все условности, но и по причине долгой сцены группового секса с участием героев.

Позже Триер задумал, но так и не снял до конца, ещё одну трилогию, «США - страна возможностей» (фильмы «Догвилль» и «Мандерлей»), а также выпустил еще несколько провокационных картин - «Антихрист», «Меланхолия», «Нимфоманка».