Euripides

Euripides
  • Full name: Euripides

According to ancient biographers Euripides was born on Salamis Island, on 23th September 480 BC, the day of the glorious victory of Greeks over Persians in the famous naval battle. Aeschylus took part in this battle and Sophocles performed in the boys choir that praised the victory. Thus the legend represents the succession of three great tragedians, of which Euripides was the youngest.

Soon after his birth Euripides moved to Athens, where his parents were from. In this city he began to write his tragedies. His debut play, “Peliades” was written and staged in 455 BC but did not win in the Dionysia due to a quarrel with judges. His was first awarded a prize almost 20 years later for the tragedy “Alcestis” but he never attained real success in Athens. Altogether only five tragedies won the first prize out of all the 92 plays he wrote. Two of them, “The Bacchae” and “Iphigenia in Aulis”, were performed after his death and the first prize was awarded posthumously. That’s probably why the offended, 72 year old playwright accepted the invitation to move to Macedonia, where he died.

From all Euripides‘ plays only 19 remain to this day, including the satyr drama, “Cyclops”, the only fully extant example of this genre. Besides Medea, the most popular Euripides’ tragedies are “Electra”, “Hippolytus”, “Alcestis”, “Andromache”, “The Suppliants” and “The Trojan Women”.

Еврипид

Еврипид
  • Полное имя: Еврипид

Древние жизнеописания Еврипида утверждают, что он родился на Саламине, в день знаменитой победы греков над персами в морском сражении, 23 сентября 480 до н. э. В этом сражении участвовал Эсхил, а шестнадцатилетний Софокл выступал в хоре юношей, прославлявших одержанную победу — по крайней мере, так легенда показывает преемственность трех великих античных трагиков, из которых Еврипид был младшим. 

Вскоре Еврипид вернулся в Афины, откуда были родом его родители — и именно там начал писать свои трагедии. Его дебютная пьеса, «Пелиад», вышла и была поставлена в 455 году до нашей эры, но не победила на Дионисиях из-за ссоры с судьями. Свой первый приз он получил почти 20 лет спустя за трагедию «Алкеста», но настоящим триумфатором в Афинах так и не стал — из 92 его пьес отмечены наградами в общей сложности были только 5, причем две последние («Вакханки» и «Ифигения в Авлиде») — уже после его смерти. Возможно, поэтому в 72 года обиженный драматург принял приглашение переехать в Македонию, где и скончался.

Из почти сотни пьес Еврипида до нас дошли 19, включая сатирову драму «Циклоп», единственный сохранившийся на сегодня образец этого жанра. Среди самых известных трагедий Еврипида, помимо «Медеи» — «Электра», «Ипполит», «Алкеста», «Андромаха», «Просительницы», «Троянки».